Evaluation Criteria and Jury

Evaluation Criteria

The selection process of the Intersolar AWARD is based on the following criteria:

A. Degree of Technological Innovation (30%)

  • Technological advancement
  • Technological creativity and quality
  • Singularity in comparison with other solutions

B. Safety (15%)

  • Compliance with international safety standards

C. Technical and Environmental Benefits (20%)

  • Technological benefitsEnvironmental benefits and socially relevant features

D. Economic Benefits (20%)

  • Economic benefits for the user
  • Demand, markets and marketing strategy

E. Proof of Innovation (10%)

  • Proof of functionality and ingenuity, test results, certifications, patents, references

F. Presentation (5%)

  • Format and quality of description and presentationExtent of application documentation

Jury Members

Prize winners are selected in a two-stage selection process:

1. A body of recognized experts selects the best entries (finalists) in each of the categories from all those submitted.

2. An independent jury made up of representatives from research, science, and the trade press then chooses this year’s winners from the finalists.

Dr. Pierre-Jean Alet
Senior Expert, Modules & Systems Photovoltaics

Dr. Volker Buddensiek
Freelance journalist specialized in renewable energies

Dr. Michael Fuhs
„pv magazine Deutschland“
Solarpraxis AG

Philippe Malbranche
Institut National de l’Energie Solaire

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Powalla
Head of the Photovoltaics Division
Member of the Board of Directors
Zentrum für Sonnenenergie- und Wasserstoff-Forschung (ZSW) Baden-Wuerttemberg

Dr.-Ing. Olivier Stalter
Director Division Power Electronics,
Grids and Smart Systems
Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems ISE